New Exploration   2 comments

Where I work, the customer service supervisors are on a rotation for the opening shift.  This last week one of my co-workers asked if anyone wanted to take her opening shift, as she doesn’t particular care for it.  I decided to take her up on the offer.  I figured loosing a little sleep may pay off if the weather cooperated (and that is a big IF still), in that I would be off work earlier and have some time before the rest of the family came home.

Last Sunday I looked at the weather forecast and saw nothing but rain our future.  How sad.  However, I kept my hopes up and it paid off for Monday.  When I left work the clouds were hanging out, but there was no rain.  I ran home to grab my camera and changed into more appropriate shoes and clothes.  Now the decision was where to go.  I didn’t want to go to the fields, as I had gotten my fill of daffodils for the moment.  I have enough Northern State Hospital photos for now until Spring and Summer are more in swing.  Where does that leave me.  My vibe was to go east.  I always seem to travel west from my house.

So off I went, east on Highway 20.  And that’s when I decided to take the Cape Horn Road.  I knew it followed along parts of the Skagit River.  I made the turn when it came and headed down the road.  I did find a nice little spot next to the river where the trees weren’t completely blocking the view.  This picture I took there shows a beautiful fallen tree that is being reclaimed.   Part of the Skagit River floats past with a light reflection of the lowland hill that looms up on the other side of the river.

I then continued down the road to further my exploration of this new area for me.  I found a couple other spots that showed interest.  Each time I would stop and take a few pictures and then jump back into the car.  As I was going, I realized that instead of doing a “photo walk”, I was doing a “photo drive”.  However, I do hope to go back to a few spots and explore further by doing more of a photo walk.  Anyways, I was getting close to the end of this road to where it connects back to Highway 20 (It is really nice that it just loops back) when I drove by this old truck.  I literally stopped and backed up my car.

Looking at this truck, it has such great character.  I actually felt a little bad for it too.  To me it just seems to be crying out for someone to come reclaim it.  To bring it back to the beauty it once was.  It just wants to be loved.  Yes, I know it is just a truck, but I think adding “a voice” to something like this brings more life to the picture.  But maybe I’m just wrong or crazy.  More likely crazy. 🙂

I am glad I decided to explore a new area and plan to do more exploration this year to the east.  I can’t wait to see what I find and share it!   Hope you have a great week.

 

2 responses to “New Exploration

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Great post! I seem to have same experiences on my “photo drives”. I really got a kick out of reading this and I love your photo finds. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Beautiful shots and that truck is fantastic!

Leave a Reply

