New Camera   2 comments

Yesterday, with the help of our friend David, my hubby and I bought a new camera.  I had been wanting to upgrade for the last few months and with the theft of our camera a few weeks ago.. well it was time to get a new one.

We purchased a Canon EOS Rebel XS.  I’ve never had a camera this technical and was a little intimidated by it.  David assured me it really wasn’t that hard.  So, with faith in my friend I went for it. 

We came home and put the battery on the charger – yes, it has its own battery.  So, no more having to have a ton of AA batteries around just for the camera.  And then I started to read the manual.  I quickly realized that I will be needing to carry around the manual with me for a while.  There is no way I can retain all the info.  So… there was nothing much else to do until the battery was charge.  Time to go online and look around.

David told me the first thing to get is a UV filter for the camera.  It helps filter those UV rays when taking pics, but also helps protect the lens.  I did a little search and found one on Amazon for $12.48.  So, into the shopping cart that went.  And oh.. gotta get the movie Blind Side (I know.. totally random, but the movie was really, really good).  And purchase!  I continued to look around at all the different lenses there are.. wow.. there are a bunch of different ones.  And the price ranges.  I saw one for like $5k! 

Finally, the battery is ready!  I slide it in and Sassy just happens to be laying there.  So she becomes the target of my first picture.  I then wander out side to grab a few more pictures.  I am very happy with how easy the camera really is to use.  There are several “basic” functions that you find with most digital cameras.  This is primarily what I am using to take my pictures right now, until I learn more about the “creative” features.

After a little while Josh suggest going out to see the tulips that have bloomed.  So, we hopped into the car and drove over to the tulip fields.  — Side note:  It will never cease to amaze me all the different things that are grown in Skagit valley.  For one, we have some of the largest crops of tulips in the world.  We grow large amounts of potatoes, several different berries, corn and wo knows what else!  All out of our little valley.  —  The early blossom tulips were very pretty.  I had a lot of fun playing around with my camera and taking a bunch of pics.

By the time we got home, I was pretty tired.  I had been taking it pretty slow, but I’m still not completely over my pneumonia.  So, I didn’t have the energy to look at my pics on the computer.  I watch the Kids Choice Awards on Nickelodeon with Victoria and was soon going to bed.

This morning I couldn’t wait to look at my pictures and see how they really looked.  I cleaned them up with some filter adjustments and I have to say I’m pretty happy.  I have so shots that I would never have gotten with my old digital camera.  So, thank you David!!

Here are some of the pictures I captured.

Posted March 28, 2010 by jadelyoness in Life in General

Tagged with , , , , ,

2 responses to “New Camera

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Woot, nice pix Sarah…keep up the work!

  2. Now I’m really exited! I just ordered that same camera, it should be here next week! These are great pics. I can’t wait to start taking pics with mine when it shows up.

Leave a Reply

